Intention + Belief = Results

by ridethewavesblog

“So take a new approach as to how you feel emotions. It’s not about the right emotion or the wrong emotion; it’s about honoring the way that you’re feeling. We tend to think that being sensitive is a weakness, but it really gives us an ability to be compassionate and to appreciate so many things in the world.” – Jessica Ortner

“You will be a failure, until you impress the subconscious with the conviction you are a success. This is done by making an affirmation which ‘clicks.’” – Florence Scovel Shinn

If you strongly believe something to be true there is nothing that anyone can do or say to make you change your belief unless you, yourself, decide to change that belief.  If you truly believe something will happen you can guarantee yourself that since you are bringing so much attention to it that it will in FACT happen.  If you do not believe me just take it from Einstein, he said “matter is formed out of energy”.  Nothing and I mean nothing will ever change or be different until you actually believe it will change or be different.

Here is something that just happened in my family: my daughter, who is eleven and a half (yes, we are at the point where the half counts . . .lol), came to me last night after her fastpitch practice upset to the point of emotional tears.  She told me how it was great that Dad [who is Assistant Coach] and the Coach stayed later to help her and another girl practice their batting but, and this is where the tears came in, she told me that she is scared that the ball is going to hit her.  She said that even though, Coach says it won’t, she knows it’s going to hit her hands.  Hmmm . . . Now a bit later, my husband comes to me frustrated that our daughter all of a sudden says she doesn’t like batting anymore and she is scared to bat.  [This is frustrating to us as parents because we see the kind of athlete our daughter is and the skills she shows naturally, I may be being bias here but, she is one of the best players on that team]  So, OK, back to my story . . . my husband is kind of upset that our daughter just won’t swing at the ball anymore and just jumps out of the batter’s box.  I asked him if she said anything to them about what was happening for her and after a bit of time of him telling all things that I never asked he finally said that she did tell them that she was afraid that the ball was going to hit her.  He told me that both he and the Coach told her that she was not going to get hit and to just swing at the ball.  I then asked him to put himself in her shoes for a minute . . . I asked him to imagine that he was our daughter and to stand in the imaginary batter’s box that I pointed to on the ground.  I said now think and repeat over and over out loud “I am afraid.  The ball IS going to hit me.”  “I am afraid.  The ball IS going to hit me.” “I am afraid.  The ball IS going to hit me.” “I am afraid.  The ball IS going to hit me.”  “I am afraid.  The ball IS going to hit me.”  “I am afraid.  The ball IS going to hit me.” . . .  As he was saying this over and over I said to him “the ball won’t hit you, just swing.”  I then asked him “What are you thinking?” and he said “I am afraid.  The ball IS going to hit me.”  I told him, it doesn’t matter what you or the Coach are ever going to say to our daughter when she strongly believes “I am afraid.  The ball IS going to hit me.” And that, my friends, was his light bulb moment.  I also, went into another specific example using something I know he is afraid of and the understanding went deeper.

Now, prior to my conversation with my hubby I helped my daughter get past her feelings by explaining what I wrote about yesterday that fear is a made up thing.  (I knew there was a reason I was reminding everyone about that topic . . . YAY!)  I got her to stand in her own imaginary batter’s box and I asked her to think about batting.  I asked “What are you thinking?”  She said “I am afraid.  The ball IS going to hit me.”  I said “OK, look I have the ball in my hand, it is here with me, it hasn’t even left my hand yet.  You are there in your ready stance waiting to crack the ball out into the outfield.”  She got kind of sad again and said “ . . .but Mom, the ball IS going to hit me.”  I said to her, “Remember, I am the pitcher and I have the ball.  You are there in the batter’s box.  You see, this is where your fear isn’t real because I have the ball.  Is it hitting you right now?”  She said “No”.  I said, “Are you getting hurt by anything right now?”  She said, “No”.  I said, “Is there anything that is endangering you at this moment?”  Of course she had to say “No”.  So, I told her, “You see, your fear about getting hit by the ball is made up and not real.”  This too, was her light bulb moment.  After that to help her accept the emotions she was feeling about batting I got her to do some EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) Tapping around being afraid of getting hit by the ball.  Because EFT Tapping focuses on loving and accepting yourself no matter what you are feeling half way through her mood already changed and her heaviness turned to air and her frown turn into the beautiful smile that she carries so well and off to bed she went—happy. All this took less time to do than it probably did for me to type it out and/or for you to read it.  Simple.  So you see, your belief about something is wa-ay stronger than your intention to make it better or different.  When you are sitting there reading self-help after self-help, following this program or that program and/or saying mantra after mantra with the intention of changing your “what is” and nothing changes.  Do not get down on yourself.  It’s just because somewhere deep inside you do not believe that what you are reading, following and/or saying will make the difference you want to see.  It is just a small step you are potentially missing in the whole grand scheme of things.  The next time you go to do something with your intention in tow do not forget your trusted friend BELIEF.  When you believe it will happen or believe it will work—trust me—it will!

Think about it . . .

Love and Sunshine,
Tracy